Historic Verdict on Triple Talaq

Triple Talaq Banned in India

 Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Turkey, Cyprus, Syria, Jordan, Egypt, Tunisia, Algeria, Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Brunei, UAE, Indonesia and Iraq, apart from being countries with major Muslim population the only other thing common among these countries is the fact that all of them have banned talaq-e-biddat (triple talaq) in their countries.

Finally, on 22.08.2017, India too can be considered in the same list. A 5-member bench comprising of judges from different religious communities which included Chief Justice of India Justice JS Khehar, Justice Kurain Joshep, Justice Rohinton Fali Nariman, Justice Uday Umesh Lalit and Justice Abdul Nasser.


The Supreme Court declared triple talaq unconstitutional and struck down in a 3:2 verdict with CJI Khehar and Justice Abdul Nasser dissenting.

The bench heard 7 different pleas and including from 5 different women who were unjustly divorced and argued that talaq-e-biddat (triple talaq) should be declared unconstitutional.

The bench has now made triple talaq void for 6 months and has further ordered the central government to amend its laws on divorce.

The whole country now will have to wait while the parliament debates and amends the laws in the time bracket of 6 months as provided the Apex Court.

Cookies on NRI Legal Services Sites

We use cookies for a number of reasons, such as keeping NRI Legal Services Sites reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our Sites are used.

Manage cookies